© 2023 Public Radio Tulsa
800 South Tucker Drive
Tulsa, OK 74104
(918) 631-2577

A listener-supported service of The University of Tulsa
PRT Header Color
classical 88.7 | public radio 89.5
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

Community Policing Board Named

File photo-Tulsa Police

Mayor G.T. Bynum and Tulsa Police Chief Chuck  Jordan announced members of the newly formed Citizen Advisory Board and Citizen Action Groups that will help build collaboration between the Tulsa Police Department and the citizens of Tulsa.

“We recognize the need to improve the lines of communication between citizens and the Tulsa Police Department so all of us can work together to make our city safer. These groups will facilitate that necessary dialogue but their creation is just one step of many that we are taking,” Mayor G.T. Bynum said. “Tulsa is setting the standard across the nation when it comes to implementing a comprehensive community policing strategy, and I am thankful for these citizens who have stepped forward to offer their help.”

The Citizen Advisory Board will meet with Tulsa Police Department leadership to discuss high-level priorities for TPD and the City as it relates to community policing and public safety solutions. 

Citizen Advisory Board Members (Appointed by Mayor Bynum):

Jamaal Dyer, Project Manager, 1921 Tulsa Race Riot Centennial Commission

John Graves, President of Cyclonic Valve Co. and former Tulsa Police Officer

Janet Levit, Vice President for Strategic Initiatives, University of Tulsa

Kathryn Lyons, Neighborhood safety advocate

Chip McElroy, CEO of McElroy Manufacturing

Gary Perceful, Tulsa School Board member

Laurie Phillips, Attorney

Vincente Ruiz, Owner of VR Electric

Aliye Shimi, Executive Director, Tulsa Metropolitan Ministry

Suzanne Stewart, Executive Director, Family Safety Center

Danny Williams, Attorney and former U.S. Attorney for Northern District of Oklahoma

Citizen Action Groups were also created in each uniform division for citizens to take a proactive approach in crime reduction and quality of life issues as it relates to their own communities. Members of the Citizen Action Groups below will serve as the base core of the group and additional citizens will be included for specific issues that arise in the community.

Citizen Action Groups (Appointed by TPD):

Gilcrease Division – Commanded by TPD Major Wendell Franklin

Maria Barnes

Arthur Candler

Jennettie Marshall

Tim Newton

Mingo Valley Division – Commanded by TPD Major Laurel Ledbetter

Carole Carner

Cass Fahler

Brent Hatley

Daniel Sigala

Skip Steele

Dana York

Riverside Division – Commanded by TPD Major Paul Fields

Tim Clark

Kim Demaree

Dr. Lanny Endicott

Norm Smaligo

Matthias Wicks