© 2024 Public Radio Tulsa
800 South Tucker Drive
Tulsa, OK 74104
(918) 631-2577

A listener-supported service of The University of Tulsa
classical 88.7 | public radio 89.5
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

MW10: Mendelssohn's String Quartet No. 6 in F minor

Masterworks in 10 Minutes or Less
Max Oppenheimer/Classical Tulsa

It was meant to be Felix Mendelssohn's instrumental requiem for his late sister, Fanny Mendelssohn Hensel – but it became his own requiem, too. Classical Tulsa host Jason Heilman introduces Mendelssohn's String Quintet No. 6 in F minor, Op. 80, in 10 minutes or less. You can hear the Brentano Quartet perform the piece as part of Chamber Music Tulsa's 2021-22 season on October 23.

Related Content