Behind Wynton Marsalis' Afro-Cuban 'Ochas' Suite

Oct 9, 2014
Originally published on October 30, 2014 6:49 pm

To open its 2014-15 season, Jazz At Lincoln Center welcomes the world premiere of a work by managing and artistic director Wynton Marsalis. Ochas, for big band and Afro-Cuban percussion, features special guests in the commanding pianist Chucho Valdés and percussionist, vocalist and Santería priest Pedrito Martinez. With the Jazz At Lincoln Center Orchestra, they blend jazz with the traditional folkloric and religious music of Cuba.

Jazz Night In America explores how the new suite of music came to be.

Set List

All compositions by Wynton Marsalis.

  • "Moyuba"
  • "Yemayá"
  • "Oyá"
  • "Obatalá"
  • "Changó"


Wynton Marsalis, trumpet/music director; Pedrito Martinez, batá/vocals; Chucho Valdés, piano. With the Jazz at Lincoln Center Orchestra: Kenny Rampton, trumpet; Marcus Printup, trumpet; Greg Gisbert, trumpet; Vincent Gardner, trombone; Chris Crenshaw, trombone; Elliot Mason, trombone; Sherman Irby, alto saxophone; Ted Nash, alto saxophone; Victor Goines, tenor saxophone; Walter Blanding, tenor saxophone; Paul Nedzela, baritone saxophone; Dan Nimmer, piano; Carlos Henriquez, bass; Ali Jackson, drums. Featuring Román Diaz, batá/vocals; Clemente Medina, batá/vocals; Dreiser Durruthy Bambolé, dance; Yesenia Fernandez Selier, dance; Denise DeJean, vocals; Amma Dawn McKen, vocals.


James Nicholls, recording engineer; Rob Macomber, chief engineer; David Robinson, live mix engineer; Justin Bias, line producer. Jonathan Kelly and Geoff Burke, music copyists. Special thanks to Christi English and Kay Wolff Niewood.

Copyright 2021 WBGO and Jazz At Lincoln Center. To see more, visit WBGO and Jazz At Lincoln Center.