Even More Counties Added To Disaster List

Jun 12, 2019



Credit File photo

  The federal government has approved federal disaster assistance for seven more Oklahoma counties that incurred damage from severe storms, flooding and tornadoes last month.

Gov. Kevin Stitt said Tuesday that the Federal Emergency Management Agency has approved the state’s request for disaster aid for Delaware, Kay, Mayes, Okmulgee, Payne, Pottawatomie and Sequoyah counties. Federal assistance previously was approved for 10 other counties, including Tulsa and Muskogee counties.

Stitt says the counties’ residents and business owners may apply for financial assistance to help recover from storm damage since May 7, including housing repairs, temporary housing and low-interest loans to repair or replace damaged property.

Heavy rainfall swelled the Arkansas River in May, flooding hundreds of homes and businesses in Oklahoma and Arkansas. Federal disaster assistance is also being sought in Arkansas.