© 2022 Public Radio Tulsa
800 South Tucker Drive
Tulsa, OK 74104
(918) 631-2577

A listener-supported service of The University of Tulsa
PRT Header Color
classical 88.7 | public radio 89.5
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

Geraldine Brooks, Winner of the 2009 Peggy V. Helmerich Distinguished Author Award

By Rich Fisher


Tulsa, Oklahoma – On our show today, a chat with the Australian-American writer and journalist Geraldine Brooks, who received the Pulitzer Prize for Fiction in 2006 for her novel, "March." Brooks is the recipient of the 2009 Peggy V. Helmerich Distinguished Author Award, which is awarded each year by the Tulsa Library Trust. She'll accept the award in a black-tie, invitation-only event on Friday the 4th here in Tulsa, and will then participate in a free-to-the-public event at the TCCL's Central Branch (at 4th and Denver) on Saturday the 5th at 10:30am. (For more details, go to tulsalibrary.org.) Brooks writes mainly historical fiction these days, and as she tells our host Rich Fisher on today's program, her work as a journalist --- and especially as a foreign correspondent, reporting for newspapers and magazines from all over the globe --- has had, from her first novel onward, a very significant influence on her efforts as a storyteller. Other books by Brooks include "Year of Wonders," "Nine Parts of Desire," and "People of the Book."