© 2022 Public Radio Tulsa
800 South Tucker Drive
Tulsa, OK 74104
(918) 631-2577

A listener-supported service of The University of Tulsa
PRT Header Color
classical 88.7 | public radio 89.5
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations
Local & Regional

Mayor Appoints Community Policing Commission

Tulsa Police

Mayor G.T. Bynum announced the creation of the Tulsa Commission on Community Policing today. The Commission will be charged with providing recommendations to City leaders in 90 days regarding community policing strategies that could be implemented in Tulsa. The recommendations will be due by March 15, 2017 - Mayor Bynum’s 100th day in office.

The community policing approach was funded by voters through VisionTulsa earlier this year, which allows for the permanent funding of 160 additional police officers. Members of the commission will review best practices and strategies being utilized nationwide and provide recommendations so clear communitywide consensus is set when new officers come onboard. 

“Community policing strategies empower everyday citizens to work hand-in-hand with police in making Tulsa safer,” Mayor G.T. Bynum said.  “The purpose of this Commission is to bring those groups together now so we can work together in identifying consensus around the community policing strategies best suited for Tulsa.”

The Commission is comprised of 26 individuals, including: Mayor G.T. Bynum, Tulsa City Councilors, Tulsa Police Department leadership and members of the community. Commission meetings will be open to the public.

Members of the Tulsa Commission on Community Policing:

Council Chair Anna America

Deputy Chief Jonathan Brooks

Mayor G.T. Bynum

Councilor Jeannie Cue

Deputy Chief Eric Dalgleish

Councilor Connie Dodson

DeVon Douglass 

Councilor Blake Ewing

Major Paul Fields

Major Wendell Franklin

Councilor Karen Gilbert

Officer Jesse Guardiola

Councilor Vanessa Hall-Harper

Sergeant Quentin Houck

Hannibal Johnson

Chief Chuck Jordan

Councilor Ben Kimbro

Councilor Phil Lakin

Deputy Chief Dennis Larsen

Christina Starzl Mendoza

Councilor David Patrick

Major Laurel Roberts

Vincente Ruiz

Tulsa FOP President, Corporal Mark Secrist

Francisco Trevino

Former Councilor Joe Williams