© 2022 Public Radio Tulsa
800 South Tucker Drive
Tulsa, OK 74104
(918) 631-2577

A listener-supported service of The University of Tulsa
PRT Header Color
classical 88.7 | public radio 89.5
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

A Chat with Jack Gantos: Winner of the 2014 Anne V. Zarrow Award for Young Readers’ Literature

Aired on Wednesday, August 20th.

The Tulsa Library Trust's Anne V. Zarrow Award for Young Readers' Literature, inaugurated in 1991, aims to "give formal recognition, on behalf of the Tulsa County community, to nationally acclaimed authors who have made a significant contribution to the field of literature for children and young adults." Past winners of the Zarrow Award include Jim Murphy, Jacqueline Woodson, Jane Yolen, Gary Paulsen, Katherine Paterson, Madeleine L'Engle, and S.E. Hinton -- and this year, the highly deserving recipient of this award is Jack Gantos. A sly, charming, and often subversive author who's wriiten more than 40 books, mostly for children and young adults, Gantos received the Newbery Medal for his book "Dead End in Norvelt." His other books include the "Rotten Ralph," "Jack Henry," and "Joey Pigza" series -- and he'll appear here in Tulsa at the public presentation of the 2014 Zarrow Award, on Friday the 22nd at 7pm at the Hardesty Regional Library (8316 East 93rd Street). You'll find more about Gantos and his upcoming appearance in Tulsa at this website and this PDF.

Related Content