Tulsa Elections: Bynum Draws 7 Challengers for Mayor, 2 Councilors Unopposed

Jun 11, 2020

Credit Matt Trotter / KWGS

The field is set for Tulsa’s municipal elections in August.

Seven men are running for mayor against incumbent G.T. Bynum, including three black men with ties to Greenwood: community organizer Greg Robinson, Black Wall Street Gallery owner Ricco Wright and restaurant owner Ty Walker.

The other candidates are businessman Craig Immel, who sued the city to stop the sale of land near Helmerich Park; Ken Reddick, a hardline conservative and self-employed project manager; insurance broker Zackri Whitlow; and Paul Tay.

City Councilors Jeannie Cue and Phil Lakin are running unopposed, while Councilor Ben Kimbro is not running for re-election.

District 5 Councilor Cass Fahler has drawn the most opponents, with four people challenging him.

Council Candidates

District 1: Vanessa Hall-Harper (incumbent), Jerry Goodwin

District 2: Jeannie Cue (incumbent)

District 3: Crista Patrick (incumbent), Paul Eicher

District 4: Kara Joy McKee (incumbent), Kathryn Lyons, Landry Miller, Casey Robinson

District 5: Cass Fahler (incumbent), Mykey Arthrell, Justin Schuffert, Rachel Shepherd, Nat Wachowski-Estes

District 6: Connie Dodson (incumbent), Christian Bengel, Cheyenna Morgan

District 7: Lori Decter Wright (incumbent), Chad Ferguson, Justin Van Kirk

District 8: Phil Lakin (incumbent)

District 9: Lee Ann Crosby, Jayme Fowler