Local Elections: Thurmond Out As BA Mayor; Marshall Holds On To TPS Board Seat

Apr 7, 2021

Municipal and school board elections were held Tuesday across much of Oklahoma, with several Green Country contests decided.

Incumbent Broken Arrow Mayor Craig Thurmond lost his reelection bid for his seat on the Broken Arrow City Council. Challenger Lisa Ford, an employee of the Broken Arrow Police Department, won the Ward 2 seat with 4,811 votes to Thurmond's 3,335.

Broken Arrow Councilor Debra Wimpee held off two challengers to retain her Ward 1 seat. She finished with 3,278 votes, ahead of Jonathan Kelly (2,510) and Cathy Smythe (2,363). 

Tulsa Public Schools Board of Education District 1 member Jennettie Marshall barely held onto her seat, defeating challenger David Harris by just 25 votes. 

In Jenks, incumbent Ward 4 City Councilmember Dawn Dyke lost to challenger Rodney Cline, 1,123 votes to 908. The at-large seat currently held by Mayor Robert Lee, who opted not to run for reelection, will be filled by Kevin Short, who won with 56.7% of the vote against multiple challengers.

Full election results are available at the Oklahoma State Election Board website.